Beautiful Thought

Religion hardly impress me as I am a non practicing Muslim who doesn’t offer his prayers or even recites Quran. I am not proud of it but at some point I am emotionally attached to Allah.

When I get into trouble or in need of something I being a selfish “Muslim” consult Him informally with very little hope.

I tune into radio either to listen songs or News only yet I  find RJs the dumbest creatures on earth, their “bak bak” don’t entertain me much as they hardly talk sense but the other day I came across with a wonderful thought that forced me to share it with you people.

A listener out of nowhere asked  RJ to explain difference between Muslim and a Momin.

RJ without hesitation summarized the whole idea in a beautiful couplet.

He said;

Musalman wo hota hai jo Allah ko maanta hai (Muslim is the one who believes in Allah)
Momin wo hota hai jo Allah ki maanta hai (Momin is the one who follows His teachings)

Apparently its just an ordinary statement but to me it weighs alot. I liked it!

7 comments

  1. Assalaamu ‘Alaikum Brother Tanzeel

    I am an electrical engineer but my passion is to have heart-to-heart with my Muslim brothers about Allaah and Aakhirat.

    I would like to comment on your statements.

    “Religion hardly impress me”
    I think Muslims throughout our past, our history didn’t see Deen as most of the non-Islamic humanity today and many Muslims without choice disconnected from the Maazi,especially the time of Sahaabah radi Allaahu ‘anhum, see religion. The mental imagery the word religion evokes in the heart of a non-Muslim is different from the menatl imagery the word Deen evokes in the hearts of most Muslims. Deen is not meant to impress people. You fall in love with Deen owing to its unpretentiousness. Men of Europe like Leopold Weiss, Margaret Marcus both of them unimpressed by religion which in their case was Yahoodiyyat(proper Arabi term for Judaism) didn’t fall in love with the impressive philosophies. Must read Islam at the crossroads by Muhammad Asad in which he describes his conversion to Islam as an act of falling in love. In that book he describes that when I abandoned the dangerous journey pursued by historical Jews and Christians of Europe and joined Muslims by falling in love with Islam and Muslims I discovered that Muslims were also pursuing the same course. So, he titled the book
    Islam at the crossroads.Crossroads in somewhere two alternate paths are emerging.One towards Sahaabah radi Allaahu anhum and other towards Jews and Christians. We pray to Allaah in every Namaaz/Salaah in Arabi not to be guided on their path of rebellion of Allaah and His two Nabis/Anbiyaa in Arabi namely Moosaa(‘alaihis salaam) and ‘Eesaa(alaihis salaam).

    “as I am a non practicing Muslim who doesn’t offer his prayers or even recites Quran. I am not proud of it but at some point I am emotionally attached to Allah.”

    A Muslim is not non practsisng out of choice but the constraints our education system and professional lives puts on our remembrance of Allaah. We know about Allaah, Mawt and Aakhirat but our lifestyle forces us to forget Allaah, Mawt and Aakhirat. Muslims are like cups of tea with sugar at the bottom. It only requires some emotional stirring to spread the longing for Allaah in our entire life. This is what Nooh (‘alaihis salaam) kept on doing for 950 consecutive years day and night as Allaah tells in Soorah Nooh about Nooh(‘alais salaam)

    “When I get into trouble or in need of something I being a selfish “Muslim” consult Him informally with very little hope.”

    Main apnay banday kay saath hota hoon jab woh mujhay yaad karta hay,jab wo meri taraf chal kar aata hay main us ki taraf bhaag kar aataa hoon.

    So,we are not being selfish even when we remember Allaah in hour of need.And Allaah says I need only your hope to sufice for you. If you put hope in Me, if you do Tawakkul, I would become Sufficient for you just as our elders sometimes say HasbiAllaah(Allaah is enough for me).

    I look forward for your response.I would love to talk to you for any length of time you wish.
    neorient@gmail.com

  2. Wslm,

    I thank you for the efforts and amount of time you have spared to clarify issues in detail. When I said religion hardly impress me I meant to rank humanity first as in my opinion majority of Muslims (representatives of Islam) are ignorant about humanity and moral values, they would pray but keep violating moral and ethical values under the pretext of Islamic teachings. At some point they keep an extremist element within themselves to which they justify through Quran and Sunnah. Qadiyani assassination, calling other sects Kafir or not befriending with Jews esp would be the appropriate examples here.

    When I get into trouble I consult him unintentionally may be because I am a Muslim by birth and try to look at Him as last option if He could really help me out but most of the time I failed to succeed. So religion in my view is a set of rules to satisfy ourselves but in real things sound different.

  3. You consult him as the last option informally and unintentionally …. this happens with me too …. but …. it should be otherwise…. I should consult Him as the first one formally and whole heartedly ….. Trusting Allah …. if I dont trust Him why would He be bothered to help me …. after all I will always be the one needing him in good or bad …. Allah needs nobody isn’t it ? I am working on making His will my will whole heartedly …. success or failure Allah knows better.

    About humanity and Islam ….. Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) was once asked about the fate of a woman who performed all her prayers ,fasted and was generous in giving zakat and sadkas …. but her neighbours complained about her abusive tongue Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) said : SUCH WOMAN WILL BE IN HELL FIRE. Then Prophet (PBUH) was asked about a fate of a woman who did not possess any of these virtues but was good and kind with her neighbours He (PBUH) replied :SUCH WOMAN WILL BE IN PARADISE.

    Humanity has highest regards in Islam for Allah Said clearly that I can forgive sins committed in Haqoq Allah but to seek forgiveness for sins committed in Haqoq ul Ibad one has to seek forgiveness of the respective person first after which He will grant his mercy.

    Islam is not what people are currently doing in the name of Allah but it is about Allah and Humanity created by Him.

  4. We have been trusting Him since we are born but it often happens when we genuinely need something he declines. Either its we have to effort to achieve our objectives or its God who bless us. We seriously need to think on this point.

    “Islam is not what people are currently doing in the name of Allah but it is about Allah and Humanity created by Him.”

    Does it mean Islam is a confused religion which is difficult to understand by a common Muslim ?

  5. Tanzeel :
    “Musalman wo hota hai jo Allah ko maanta hai (Muslim is the one who believes in Allah)
    Momin wo hota hai jo Allah ki maanta hai (Momin is the one who follows His teachings)”

    Interestingly, Shias also refer to themselves as MOMIN when they want to indicate to fellow shia that they belong to same religious group particularly in scenarios where they don’t want to be getting too explicit about being Shia

    Even Sunni writers refer to the word Momin as some kind of superior muslim while muslim being the ordinary.

    To me, Momin/Muslim , “Allah ko manna” and “Allah ki manna” is all word game. The word “God” itself is so broadly defined that words alone can’t capture the concept. And hence it is pure chance (luck) that which religious terms/concept will attract whom.

    In your case, this happened to be a couplet by an RJ

  6. The first two lines are contrary to the rest of the “beautiful thought” – but overall, a good try to make us realise that what are we loosing mundanely. Rightnow my hearts beating wildy, its just the guilt which is thumping my heart; Makes me feel how selfish we’re, we always expect a special treatement from Allah ONLY when we Need him; Beshak Hes the most merciful force and yet we’re ungrateful.

  7. Wow,what a wonderful thought and it has really clicked into my mind. Even a layman ca understand this quote. This is really a great description of the difference between a momin and a Muslim.

Leave a Reply

